A Time to Survive

The Game

Name: —
Description: A 3D zombie survival game.
Released: will not be released

Progress

This game has been an interesting combination of challenges and successes.

InThePond.PNG

I enjoyed working with the models that were already put together: the Ethan zombie, the helicopter, and the various terrain pieces. I was fully able to appreciate the intricacies of the animations supplied by Unity Technologies – they were far more detailed than anything I’ve put together on my own so far.

The water effects were fairly straightforward to work with.

I found the terrain tools to be effective, if finicky. I believe in order to yield the best results, the terrain should be adjusted at both the birds-eye and ground-level views.

CharacterModels.PNG

Among the hurdles, I would need to create some new animations for the models, ones with weapons out. Walking, running, crouching, jumping, attacking, being attacked, and dying, for a start. All those animations on highly detailed models, would take a considerable amount of effort. I suspect that the results would not even be close to the caliber put forth in the original animations.

TheHeliArrives.PNG

The helicopter arrives to save the day.

In the end, this project will not be completed as the challenges are more about 3d gaming, which is not the best use of my time right now.

ZoomView.png

Effort and focus.

Effort is the currency of creation. Focus prevents its waste.

Thoughts

I would have liked to put out a playable demo, even an unpolished one. But I have my sights set on other goals.

From here I move to putting together a playable version of the project that sparked this leg of my journey.

SunSets2

The sun sets on this scene, and this project. But, it’ll not be long before the sun rises on another.

 

 

 

Leave a comment